The Arizona State Committee Arizona Women Artists of the National Museum of Women in the ArtsArizona Women Artists 

Jessie Benton Evans Lillian Wilhelm Smith Marjorie Reed Claire Dooner Phillips Kate Cory Marjorie Thomas

The Arizona State Committee of the National Museum of Women in the Arts is a nonprofit volunteer organization established as an affiliate of the National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA), located in Washington, D.C.  The museum brings recognition to the achievements of women artists of all periods and nationalities by exhibiting, preserving, acquiring, and researching art by women and by teaching the public about their accomplishments. 

The Arizona State Committee works to enhance the cultural life of the state through arts programming that supports the museum’s mission.  This will include:

-Exhibitions of Arizona’s historically important women artists, along with juried and invitational exhibitions of the work of contemporary Arizona women artists.

-Promotion and sponsorship of arts education programs—such as NMWA’s Exploring Art and Discovering Art—for Arizona school children.

- Arts symposia, publications, and seminars geared towards educating the public about women artists through lectures, panel discussions, book signings, and other special events.

The only requirement to become a member of NMWA’s Arizona State Committee is that you must become a member of the National Museum of Women in the Arts and then register with Fran Elliott at


  For further information, please call: Arizona Committee Co-Chair Fran Elliott (928)-301-8057, or email:

Site Design by Blue Coyote Designs
Last Updated: February 12, 2013